Disappearing Domain Accounts when adding Domain Account as Local Administrators


Story – Creating a new local lab environment using VMware Workstation for Guest OS Windows Server 2008 R2 with SP1.

I created a Domain Controller SERVER-A and created some domain service accounts (svc-A) that were to be used as Administrators on member servers.

After attaching a new guest SERVER-B as a domain computer, I tried adding the svc-A account under the local administrators group. It would let me add the account, but as soon as I added (and applied), the svc-A account would disappear from the local Administrators group.

OK.

So I try to add that account again – and – error – “Account svc-A is already a member of this group”

Culprit – my sysprep process. For Windows Server 2008 R2, I did not check the “Generalize” option, and that would not create a new SID for the member server.

I had to check the “Generalize” option, which then creates a new SID, which then allows me to add and view a domain account under local administrators for that member server.

3 thoughts on “Disappearing Domain Accounts when adding Domain Account as Local Administrators

  1. les

    I thought this would resolve the same issue I have with windows 2012 but all it did was shutdown the server (virtual) and then give a windows cannot complete the installation error on startup

    Reply

Leave a Reply

